Institute of Applied Mathematics The current position: homepage  Departments  Institute of Applied Mathematics  

Overview of the Institute:

Institute of Applied Mathematics is a virtual research organization which was founded in 2012, belonging to the school of Mathematics, Physics and Statistics, Shanghai University of Engineering Science. We are devoted to the theory and application research of applied mathematics, also to the development and creatation of the mathematical theories and methods in the fields of natural sciences, modern engineering and management, serving the national economic construction.

Institute of Applied Mathematics has a total staff of 21 who are mainly from the school of Mathematics, Physics and Statistics of our university, including 3 professors, 10 associate professors, 20 researchers with doctorates and 9 external distinguished professors. We keep close academic exchanges and cooperation with overseas universities such as Memphis university, Universite de Franche-Comte, Polytechnic University of Valencia,National University of Singapore and Curtin University of Australia, in addition, with many famous universities of China such as Tsinghua University, Nankai University, Xiamen University, Tongji University and Shanghai University. After years of development, Institute of Applied Mathematics has formed four distinctive research directions including the applied functional analysis, the optimization theory and application, the hybrid system analysis and control as well as the dynamic system theory and application, with certain advantages comparing to the similar universities in Shanghai.

The researchers of the institute put the whole passion into the scientific study with the spirit of diligence, preciseness and creativity such that we obtain great achievements. Since the establishment of the Institute of Applied Mathematics, we have been in charge of 3 Surface Projects of NSFC, 5 Youth Science Funds, 1 Tianyuan Mathematical Fund, 5 projects of NSFC with cooperation, 1 project sponsored by SRF for ROCS, 1 project sponsored by NSF of Shanghai and 1 “Chen Guang” project of Shanghai. Scientific research funds has accumulated more than 4 million yuan . Over 130 high-level scientific research papers as the first author have been published indexed by SCI. Meanwhile, 3 academic monographs have also been published.



Research directions:

1.Applied functional analysis:

Mainly study the geometry, structure and isometry theory of Banach spaces, and their applications in nonlinear optimal approximation problems and infinite dimensional metric space optimization problems

2.Optimization theory and application:

Mainly study the theory and interior point algorithm of cone optimization and complementarity problems, the theory and algorithm of large-scale sparse optimization problems, as well as the modeling and solution of optimization problems in statistics.

3.Hybrid system analysis and control:

Mainly study the analysis and control of impulsive hybrid systems, the analysis, synchronization and control of complex network system, as well as the control of quantum system.

4.Dynamic system theory and application:

Mainly study the basic theory and application methods of nonlinear dynamic system, including the Lyapunov stability of equilibrium point of the dynamic system, the limit cycle, primary bifurcation theory, as well as the bifurcation and chaos theory.




Director: Professor Zihou Zhang (Doctor Degree)

Deputy director:Professor Guoqiang Wang (Doctor Degree)

Secretary:Associate professor Weiqin Yu (Doctor Degree)

Academic development committee:Zihou Zhang, Guoqiang Wang, Shouwei Zhao, Weiqin Yu;

Applied functional analysis:Zihou Zhang(academic leader), Yu Zhou, Chunyan Liu, Ruijuan Liu, Dejun Zhao, Jing Zhou;

Optimization theory and application:Guoqiang Wang(academic leader), Lei Zhou, Mingming Li, Zhongtuan Zheng, Juli Zhang;

Hybrid system analysis and control:Shouwei Zhao(academic leader), Tao Fang, Tianbo Wang, Wenxia Cui;

Dynamic system theory and application: Weiqin Yu(academic leader), Na Li, Qingduan Fan, Wentao Wang, Juan Wang, Xiao Wang.